Recent Photos

Recent Forum Posts

Upcoming Events

Thursday, Jul 12 at 7:30 PM - 8:45 PM
Monday, Jul 16 at 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Monday, Jul 16 at 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday, Jul 18 at 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

2018 RUN THE MOORS FELL RACE SERIES

STOP PRESS: Bull Hill Fell Race, scheduled as Race 7 in this year's series, has been cancelled. Discussions are taking place between clubs regarding a replacement race, which will be announced on this page as soon as confirmed.

This well-established Fell Race Grand Prix involves several local running clubs - including Middleton Harriers, Rochdale Harriers & Saddleworth Runners - with Royton Road Runners joining for the first time in 2012.

The 2018 series is made up of 11 mainly local fell races - see the full list below & click on the links to each race for more details.

Just like in the RRR (road race) championship, points are allocated for each race completed, with the best 5 scores counting for each individual.

If you want any more information about this race series, please let me know!
RUN THE MOORS RACE SERIES 2018
[showing distance in miles, amount of climb in feet]

Saturday 7th April - Wardle Skyline, Wardle (7m, 1250ft)
Monday 7th May - Coiners, Mytholmroyd (6.7m, 968ft)
Sunday 27th May - Saddleworth, Greenfield (2.9m, 951ft)
Sunday 3rd June - Edenfield, Rossendale (6.4m, 1565ft)
Sunday 10th June - Knowl Hill, Norden (6m, 1299ft)
Sunday 24th June - Kinder Trog, Hayfield, Peak District (16m, 3491ft)
Saturday 21st July - Ingleborough, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales (6.8m, 1968ft)
Sunday 19th August - Crowden Horseshoe, near Woodhead, Peak District (8m, 1699ft)
Wednesday 22nd August - Golf Ball, Rossendale (5.5m, 801ft)
Thursday 6th September - Hades Hill, Whitworth (5m, 1181ft)
Saturday 13th October - Langdale Horseshoe, Lake District (13.1m, 4757ft)


Full details of all of these races (and many more!)

Click here for the official Run The Moors site, including final points tables.

Click here for the full FRA Safety Requirements & Rules for Competition. If you are planning to take part in an FRA-registered race you should plan to arrive at the start with (as a minimum) waterproof full body cover (with taped seams & integrated attached hood), hat, gloves, map of the route, compass, whistle & emergency food, with a bumbag/pack to carry them in. These may not all be compulsory for every race (although they are considered "best practice"), but you won't know this until you arrive at the start. Race organisers are obliged to carry out random kit checks before the race & can refuse to allow runners to participate if they do not have the required kit. Please check the FRA website for details of each race you plan to run & contact the organiser if you need any further information.